The penultimate Louder Than Chaos has Soma’s techno titans Slam join forces with Belgium’s finest export, Amelie Lens. A collaboration a long time in the making, the Glasgow duo of Stuart McMillan & Orde Meikle bring their trademark crafts, melding it perfectly with Amelie’s driving synth lines. The output is three outstanding dancefloor killers combining both artists’ unique and powerful styles.

The dark and driving ‘Uncontrolled’ opens Vol. 4 perfectly as steamrolling bass and punchy, rhythmic percussion lead to an ominous and twisting synth hook that propels this track skyward. Keeping the momentum going, ‘Clarity’ instantly has an old school groove at its heart that gradually builds into a searing acid hook that cleverly disguises dynamic melodic elements. Closing out the EP is ‘Construct’ that shows no mercy coming out the block with a supercharged low end and electrified synths, dropping down into an expertly crafted, dynamic breaks & bass heavy breakdown before slamming back in with huge energy.

In March 2020 the world was abruptly thrown into collective disarray. The pandemic stopped almost everything dead in its tracks. No social gatherings, self-isolation, a sense of panic and bewilderment prevailed. An industry that had become so dependent on human connection and unity, was suddenly switched off and put on pause for an unforeseeable future.

It was in this climate that The Louder Than Chaos project was born, facilitated by Soma Records’ head honchos and Techno protagonists Slam. A collaborative project with friends, colleagues and contemporaries normally only seen at airports, or events, now brought together under a completely different set of circumstances, allowing for a purposeful connection in a time of disconnect. The focus of the project is built on a powerful mutual participation, remotely constructed over time and fully intended for holding court on peak time dance floors when they inevitably return. That time has now finally come.

Louder Than Chaos is a series of 5 releases, on 12 vinyl” & Digital, which will be released monthly via Soma Records. The project kicked off with a three track EP featuring collaborations with 999999999, Hector Oaks and Keith Tucker (AKA Optic Nerve), with the second volume featuring collaborations with UK techno legend Perc, Volume 3 with with long term Soma affiliate Rebekah with Volume 5 to follow in the new year with enigmatic Mancunian AnD. Each EP features specially commissioned artwork from German based artist PPP Panic, which consolidates into one constructive piece over the 5 releases.